Which usb capture cards to purchase for Macbook Pro 2017

Hi all,

I’m very new to all of this and am currently trying to create a two camera setup in a studio I record with bands in.

I’ll be mixing the audio through a desk (Behringer x32 recording to a second laptop), and taking the main outputs from the desk to a usb interface and in to my laptop for the stream.

My question is about which capture cards I could use for two cameras with Hdmi out. I want to use my Macbook Pro 2017, which only has two USB-c ports. I have a hub that plugs in to both, that provides me with three USB 3.0 ports, a usb-c passthrough charge port, and a HDMI output.

I’m guessing I should look at USB capture cards like the Black Magic Intensity Shuttle? However i’ve read online that I can’t use two of these on the same laptop? I’m worried about the setup as I’ll be using an audio interface, and two black magic shuttles all through the same hub.

Will this be an issue? Will there be enough power provided from the two ports to power all three USB 3.0 ports on the adapter at once?

Thanks in advance for any help,

Sounds like you have a 13inch MBP? If so, that is probably going to be a no go unfortunately. It doesn’t have dedicated graphics VRAM (it’s shared with the system) & is probably only 1 GB or so. USB capture is very heavy on the machine. You’d be better off using a external Thunderbolt chassis and capture cards from either Blackmagic Design or Magewell. But, even then, I don’t believe you have enough machine to do it still. You might get away with using the Spark NDI boxes from NewTek. NDI is a network based encoding & transport solution. It doesn’t seem so heavy on the system resources like USB or even a PCIe card.

https://docs.mimo.live/docs/nditm-video-source

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1348898-REG/newtek_fg_001775_r001_connect_spark_hdmi.html

https://docs.mimo.live/docs/ndi-settings