Stuttering of video files in mimoLive 6.3.1 on M2 Max

as posted by someone else on Facebook, I’m also reporting here the problem.

I’m experiencing random stuttering of ProRes LT and H.264 files on Mimo 6.3.1 on a M2 Max 2023 Macbook Pro.

I’m running tests ongoing for hours with looping videos. It never happened before and it’s a real issue for me.

I’ve been using mimolive since 2020. it was my understanding that Prores files are “lighter” on the CPU/GPU because they don’t need to be transcoded as H264 files.
So I always used Prores motion graphics and videos and never had any problem, leaving ample headroom to the GPU and CPU for everything else.
I recently switched to an M2 Max Macbook Pro and I’m having this stuttering which seems counterintuitive with Prores.

Anyway, I’m having problems with H264 files as well – not only ProRes. The stuttering is random, but definitely there.

I’m just using a normal Blackmagic output, but the stuttering is definitely present in mimo even before being output to the BM card.
I’m not using any NDI or similar aux outputs.

Any help from the developers?
Thanks

Hi @fermento This is very concerning and we’re looking into it. Right now the challenge is to reproduce it. Could you please provide us with a sample document and the files that exhibits this problem? You can DM me a link to Dropbox or similar here in the forum. Thank you for your support.

Do you experience the stuttering also when you play the files with the Quicktime Player?

Are the files stored on the internal SSD drive or on an external drive?

great to read your responsive comment Oliver!

I’ll send you some material.
The stuttering is not present in quicktime.
I’m playing all the source from the internal SSD drive.

I’m testing my old intel mbp with mimoLive 5.11 (my workhorse!) on Big Sur.
Not a single frame glitching, same project, same blackmagic ultrastudio on output.