Some suggestions for Fotomagico

I’ve been trying out Fotomagico for a few days, and I have some suggestions. Because I’m not experienced with it, it’s possible I’m just not using it right, but the tutorial and help pages don’t address these issues, so I don’t think that’s the case.

When you enable animation for a slide, there needs to be a button or keyboard shortcut that makes the finish side of the animation match the starting side in every way. If you place a few photos on the starting side, resize them and then move them around, having to manually make those same adjustments to the finish side before you can start the animation process is utterly frustrating! The only workaround is: for each photo on the current slide, click on the photo in the starting pane, activate the mask, Copy Geometry, click on the corresponding photo in the finish pane, activate the mask, Paste Geometry, click on the photo in the starting pane (layer is selected this time), Copy Geometry, click on the corresponding photo in the finish pane, and Paste Geometry. Then make your subtle changes for the animation. Ridiculous!

It is a bad idea to make borders applied to photos expand outward in both directions from the center line. If you have two photos side by side, and they each have the same border applied to them, the borders along the outside edges of the screen will always appear half as thick as the borders along the inside edges, because half of the borders on the outside edges are off the screen. If the borders instead extended only inward from the center line, (and if one photo overlapped the other by one border width) then all border edges would appear to be the same width. (There are more sophisticated ways to solve this, such as adding some logic that determined if two photos were butted up against each other, and then cutting the width of those borders in half.)