RAID Configuration, 2nd camera recommendation, BoinxTV --> Final Cut Pro Questions

I’m designing a DIY video production studio to produce guitar instruction videos, and am hoping to use BoinxTV to record multiple camera angles, with at least one recording in HD, straight to disk to cut down on editing time. I was hoping you could help me choose the right hardware. I searched the forum but couldn’t find answers.

1. I’m considering buying the Mac Pro setup you describe. You recommend a RAID card with three 1TB hard drives, but not which RAID configuration to use. What RAID configuration do you recommend so that I can research it more? I’m a total newb.

2. I already have a Canon HV30 which I’m planning on using for the main wide shot of me teaching, shooting in HD. I need to buy a second camera for a closeup of my hands playing the guitar. If I find a decent webcam for this purpose, could I use that? This second shot doesn’t need to be in HD. I realize you recommend using identical cameras, but I’m just trying to keep costs down.

3. Depending on how useful I find BoinxTV’s editing features, I may just use BoinxTV for capture and then import into Final Cut Pro. Is it easy to just capture and then export? Does BoinxTV export to .mov?

Thanks a ton,

Rob

Thanks for your interest in BoinxTV. I am not sure if BoinxTV is the right product for you: If you just want to record multiple camera angles in on shot to get it to FinalCut, there is a much more streamline way to do this. Record every angle in full length and use the multi angle edit functions from FC-X: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sIIZemd12xU

Anyways here are some comments on your questions:

1. You necessarily don’t need a RAID if you just record a single HD camera. This is just about writing speed to disk. BoinxTV is writing a lot data to disk and we need a fast hard drive to get the job done.