Format for Photos in slides

Hi - I’m new to FotoMagico - what is the best format for all my photos before pulling them into FotoMagico? I’m planning to do the HD 1080 and create movies for Youtube - I want high quality HD and I’m hoping to create m4v’s of my slideshows. The current image size of all my photos is 4948 x 3280 300 pixels and they are .psd’s created from raw files. I’d like to resize before pulling them into the slideshow.

1. What’s the best size and then I’ll batch process them?
  2. Also should I change them from 300 pixels to 72?
  3. And should I change them from .psd’s to .jpg’s?

Thanks for your help.
Catherine

I can offer a little help – but I haven’t created any HD 1080 movies or m4v’s, so I can’t address that issue.

When I (and my wife) create our slideshows, we’ve always planned on presenting them directly off the computer, either from FM itself, or by creating a stand-alone player. It’s the best way to maintain high quality images. Creating a Blu-Ray version would be just as good, but I don’t have any experience at that because we don’t have a Blu-Ray player or writer.