Connecting Axis Cameras to BoinxTV......an offer to good to refuse!

While I am new to Boinx, I have been working with Axis cameras since I got my hands on their first IP Camera in 1998 when we became their first reseller in Australia.

We have a small company called Campus Watch (www.campuswatch.com.au) that runs as a not-for-profit adjunct to our primary business. Campus Watch is a DIY site that was built to help all the Independent Schools in Australia design, select and install Network cameras on their campuses.

Not surprisingly, many of our Customers are Boinx users and in recent days 2 of them have asked me to look into the advertised/implied Axis Camera support on the Boinx website.

Yesterday, I had a few hours to spare so I downloaded and installed a demo version of BoinxTV. As a newbie (and as a result of what appears to be a lack of documentation regarding attaching Axis Cameras) I fumbled around and eventually worked out how to add the Axis Layer and eventually managed to have a 1080P image from an Axis Q1615 appear within the “Live” area.

Here are a few comments and questions that I have as a result of this exercise:-

1. Initially I had trouble connecting to the camera using its User and Password so I had a look at the camera log and saw a heap of “access denied” messages. Given that I knew the entries I had made were correct, I went into the Axis setup page and selected Basic Setup>>Users and then selected “Enable anonymous viewer login” and immediately the camera image appeared in BoinxTV. If the Axis Layer was created a long time ago, I am thinking that the RTSP string that the layer creates is probably no longer valid for Axis cameras and needs to be reworked. Is there any chance I can see the actual RTSP string?