Boinx TV Intensity Pro HDMI error

Hi,

I’ve been using BoinxTV for over 6 months now and we’ve had a recurring issue with HDMI capture. I have literally changed everything but BoinxTV, I have swapped the Intensity card into different ports, I have swapped it with a new one, I have upgraded to the latest mac pro I have tried all sorts of blackmagic intensity drivers, I’ve tried OSX 10.6 and 10.7, direct connection with card, indirect through HDMI splitter, yet nothing ever changes.

We use BoinxTV for seminar recording and as such laptops get plugged and unplugged from the Intensity Pro card regularly. The problem is after time, sometimes less than a day the Intensity Pro will no longer display an image, simply black. Now I’ve narrowed it down to boinx in a very specific scenario.

1. plug in laptop and start boinx
  2. do recording
  3. stop recording
  4. unplug laptop
  5. close boinxtv

After consulting console BoinxTV throws an error like this

BoinxTV(211,0xb01b3000) malloc: *** error for object 0x4d472404: incorrect checksum for freed object - object was probably modified after being freed.

Which suggests to me that BoinxTV is not correctly de-allocating memory related to the thread that has a lock on the Intensity Pro card, causing the card to forever be locked and longer accessible till I do a hard reboot of the Mac.

I may be wrong but I’ve tested this card for 3 days straight and it can maintain capture for that long, but as soon as BoinxTV come into the mix things start getting hairy.

I hope you can fix this soon as this is very inconvenient.

Setup :

MacPro 2012
Intensity Pro
Decklink Studio (SDI input, never stops working).
HDMI input (tried both 1080p and 720p same results.)

Also using latest version of boinxtv 1.8.4

We saw the same issue with a Capture Card from another manufacturer a while ago. A driver update from them fixed the issue back then. Are you running the latest BlackMagic desktop drivers?